top of page

Irv Hanec

Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame Induction


On September 28th, Irv Hanec was inducted into the Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame in the Builder category at the 17th Induction Dinner at the Victoria Inn, Winnipeg.

Irv was a student at St. John’s (1959-63) and on staff (1976-81) & (1985-2001).


Irv's wife Cec receives the induction plaque from Morris Glimcher

(Hall of Fame committee member and St. John's alumnus 1965-71)


Ross Wedlake, MBHOF chair and Master of Ceremonies also a St. John's Alumnus  Student 1963-66; Staff 1999-2004 

Cec Hanec with Sandy (Cassano) Bailey, 

Lucy (Cassano) Reveco, Sue Gibb & Diane Wellwood 

A number of former students from different schools and staff members attended

the induction ceremony.

The following St. John’s alumni were present:

Back Row: Ross Wedlake (Student 1963-66; Staff 1999-2004), Bill Wedlake (Student 1961-64; Staff 1969-85), Hymie Fox (1961-66), Dr. Sandy (nee Cassano) Bailey (Student 1986-92;Staff 1999-2001), Lucy (Cassano) Reveco (1983-89), Chris Penner (Staff 2004-09), Sue Gibb (Staff (1975-89;90-2009), Morris Glimcher (1965-71)

Front Row: Janis (nee Dembicki) Hanec (1968), Harvey Hanec (1962-65) 

Missing: Diane Wellwood (1992-2006) 

bottom of page